Nono Project

The foundation of the project work is the video production "Luigi Nono - Il canto sospeso", published as a DVD edition with Claudio Abbado, Bruno Ganz, Susanne Lothar, Angelica Ippolito, Gian-Maria Volontè, Ben Kingsley, Umberto Eco and further contributors. The edition is available primarily to schools and educational institutions.

The Nono Project offers young people the opportunity to reflect on the conditions of their own situation. The project should open an access to the important topics of our cultures in Europe. It should help students to find their own way to develop democracy and human rights with regard to their own history and region.

The video productions in German, Italian, Polish, French, Dutch and English are available to pupils, teachers and multipliers in the educational sector. They should lead to an interdisciplinary dialogue. In this dialogue, education is taught and learned. Peace is educated and the awareness of the inalienability of human rights is developed.

The production is based on the composition "Il canto sospeso" by Luigi Nono. He selected ten last letters from resistance fighters for his choral work, which was commissioned by the WDR in 1956. These were written by young people, men and women from Greece, Russia, Poland, Italy, Bulgaria and Germany who resisted the Nazis and were murdered by the Wehrmacht in 1942 / 1943.

The letters are testimony of humanity and tolerance, of love and hope. They contain messages that still today give young people living example of values, culture, education and responsibility for their own actions and for the well-being of others.

Video production "Luigi Nono - Il canto sospeso"

Recordings

"Luigi Nono - Il canto sospeso"
Concept: Claudio Abbado, Jürgen Petzinger

  • German
    With Claudio Abbado, the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, Rundfunkchor Berlin (Rehersals Dietrich Knothe) and the soloists Barbara Bonney, Susanne Otto and Marek Torzewski. Speakers: Susanne Lothar, Bruno Ganz. Preface: Umberto Eco. For German-speaking schools und educational institutions (VHS/DVD 50 min - Sound: Sony Classical)
  • Italian
    with Claudio Abbado, the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, Rundfunkchor Berlin (Rehersals Dietrich Knothe) and the soloists Barbara Bonney, Susanne Otto and Marek Torzewski. Speakers: Angelica Ippolito, Gian Maria Volontè. Preface: Umberto Eco. For schools in Italy, dedicated to Scuola di Pace Montesole in Marzabotto/Provincia di Bologna (VHS/DVD 50 min - Sound: Sony Classical)
  • English
    with Claudio Abbado, the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, Rundfunkchor Berlin (Rehersals Dietrich Knothe) and the soloists Barbara Bonney, Susanne Otto and Marek Torzewski. Speaker: Ben Kingsley. International version in English language. Created in cooperation with Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt (IMD), Akademie für Tonkunst Darmstadt and the Institut für Neue Musik und Musikerziehung Darmstadt INMM (released in January 2002 as "Darmstädter Edition") (DVD 45 Min. - Sound: Sony Classical)
  • Dutch
    with Claudio Abbado, the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, Rundfunkchor Berlin (Rehersals Dietrich Knothe) and the soloists Barbara Bonney, Susanne Otto and Marek Torzewski. Speaker: Pia Douwes. (DVD 45 Min. - Sound: Sony Classical)
  • French
    with Claudio Abbado, the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, Rundfunkchor Berlin (Rehersals Dietrich Knothe) and the soloists Barbara Bonney, Susanne Otto and Marek Torzewski. Speakers: Pupils of Lycée de l'Essouriau Les Ulis, France (DVD 45 Min. - Sound: Sony Classical)
  • Polish
    with Claudio Abbado, the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, Rundfunkchor Berlin (Rehersals Dietrich Knothe) and the soloists Barbara Bonney, Susanne Otto and Marek Torzewski. Speakers: Pupils of II Liceum Ogólnokształcące w Świdnicy, Poland (DVD 45 Min. - Sound: Sony Classical)
  • German
    with Claudio Abbado, the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, Rundfunkchor Berlin (Rehersals Dietrich Knothe) and the soloists Barbara Bonney, Susanne Otto and Marek Torzewski. Speakers: Pupils of Friedrich-Ebert-Gymnasium Berlin-Wilmersdorf (DVD 45 Min. - Sound: Sony Classical)

For additional versions (Greek and Russian are currently being considered), Germany's Minister of Foreign Affairs Heiko Maas has has taken over the patronage.

DVD Releases

  • "Luigi Nono - Il canto sospeso" - Darmstädter Edition 2002
    includes the first three recordings in German, Italian and English. Released in cooperation with cooperation with Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt (IMD), Akademie für Tonkunst Darmstadt and the Institut für Neue Musik und Musikerziehung Darmstadt INMM.
  • "Luigi Nono - Il canto sospeso" - Edition EU 2004
    includes the first three recordings in German, Italian and English. Released in cooperation with Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung.
  • "Luigi Nono - Il canto sospeso" - Edition EU 2013 Auswärtiges Amt
    includes the first three recordings in German, Italian and English. Released in cooperation with the German Federal Foreign Office under patronage of Dr. Guido Westerwelle.
  • "Luigi Nono - Il canto sospeso" - Edition EU 2017
    includes the three recordings with french, polish and german students. Released under patronage of Piotr Fedorowicz (District Governor of Świdnicy) and Dietmar Woidke (Prime Minister of Brandenburg state)
The letters are read in the German version by Susanne Lothar and Bruno Ganz, in the Italian version by Angelica Ippolito and Gian Maria Volontè and in the English version by Ben Kingsley. In the other versions, the letters were read by students of the respective schools in the context of the project work.
The concert part of the video "Luigi Nono - Il canto sospeso" was recorded in the Berlin Philharmonie and enriched with images of contemporary history from World War II, Auschwitz and with works by Francisco de Goya, Pablo Picasso, Otto Dix, and Alberto Giacometti.

Friends of Nono Project

  • Alessandra Abbado, Ferrara
  • Claudio Abbado †, Berlin/Ferrara
  • Gabriele Abbado, Arezzo
  • Pedro Alcalde, Barcelona
  • Volker Assel, Berlin
  • Peter Barg, Berlin
  • Peter Benz, Darmstadt
  • Giovanni Bersani, Bologna
  • Joachim Bertele, Berlin
  • Dieter Beuermann, Berlin
  • Giancarlo Biamino, Hamburg/Florenz
  • Mechthild Borries-Knopp, Berlin
  • Leonardo Botti, Berlin
  • Harald Braun, Berlin
  • Waltraut und Günter Braun, Berlin
  • Aleksandra Brnetic, Berlin
  • Dankwart Buwitt, Berlin
  • Wolfgang Clement, Düsseldorf
  • Peter Danckert, Berlin
  • Umberto Eco †, Mailand
  • Hans Eichel, Berlin
  • Horst Engelhardt, Berlin
  • Karsten Evers, Genf
  • Angelika und Ingo Fessmann, Berlin
  • Michel Friedman, Frankfurt
  • Rosetta Froncillo, Berlin
  • Manfred Füger, Potsdam
  • Bruno Ganz †, Berlin
  • Werner Gegenbauer, Berlin
  • Manfred Gentz, Esslingen
  • Christel Gernhardt, Berlin
  • Bernd Goldmann, Berlin
  • Brigitta Grabner, Ferrara
  • Antonia Graschberger, München
  • Peter Hanser-Strecker, Mainz
  • Gerd Harms, Magdeburg
  • Andreas Hesse, Berlin
  • Marianne Heuwagen, Berlin
  • Gunnar Hille, Berlin
  • Karin und Bernd Höffken, Nürnberg
  • Erika und Rolf Hoffmann, Berlin
  • Sabrina Hohmann, München
  • Ulla Jäger, München
  • Wolfgang Kapst, Berlin/Potsdam
  • Betty und Paul Kern, Berlin
  • Horst-Achim Kern, Berlin
  • Ben Kingsley, Chipping-Norton
  • Michael Klockmann, Berlin
  • Klaus Krahn, Berlin
  • Klaus Krone, Potsdam
  • Stephan Krüger, Berlin
  • Niko Lamprecht, Wiesbaden
  • Klaus Landowsky, Berlin
  • Florian Langenscheidt, München
  • Micaela Lipparini, Bologna
  • Susanne Lothar †, Wien
  • Regine und Jochen Ludewig, Bad Schwartau
  • Wolfgang Lüder †, Berlin
  • Fritz Lüdtke, München
  • Marco Macciantelli, Bologna
  • Christa Maerker, Berlin
  • IKH Margaret Prinzessin von Hessen und bey Rhein †
  • Wilhelm Matejka, Berlin
  • Hans-Georg Meier, Berlin
  • Arend Oetker, Köln
  • Henning Osthues-Albrecht, Essen
  • Luciana Pestalozza, Mailand
  • Angelika und Rolf Petry, Essen
  • Hannelore und Dieter Pfeng-Kalbhenn, Darmstadt
  • Peter Poschmann, Rathenow
  • Peter Raue, Berlin
  • Steffen Reiche, Potsdam
  • Ann Robertson, Berlin
  • Hans Rombach, Berlin
  • Nikolaus Sander, Berlin
  • Nerio Scala, Bologna
  • Michael Schaefer, Berlin
  • Heinrich Schäffler, Michelstadt
  • Silke Schagen, Berlin
  • Klaus-Peter Schmidt-Deguelle, Berlin
  • Margit und Manfred Schneider-Rothhaar †, Darmstadt
  • Horst Schnur, Erbach
  • Nuria Schoenberg-Nono, Venedig/Los Angeles
  • Manfred Stolpe †, Potsdam
  • Rita Süssmuth, Berlin
  • Jan Tonnemacher, München
  • Umberto Vattani, Rom
  • Giuseppe Vita, Berlin/Mailand
  • Ruth Wagner, Wiesbaden
  • Andreas von Weizsäcker †, München
  • Christian Wiesner-Stippel, Berlin
  • Karin Wolff, Wiesbaden
  • Hans Zehetmair, München

Phone

Address

Schuette-Lanz-Str. 105a
12209 Berlin
Germany

Nonoprojekt

Gemeinsame Basis der Projektarbeit im Netzwerk ist die Videoproduktion "Luigi Nono - Il canto sospeso", erschienen als DVD Edition mit Claudio Abbado, Bruno Ganz, Susanne Lothar, Angelica Ippolito, Gian-Maria Volontè, Ben Kingsley, Umberto Eco und weiteren Mitwirkenden. Die Edition steht in erster Linie Schulen und Bildungseinrichtungen zur Verfügung.

Das Nonoprojekt bietet die Möglichkeit für junge Menschen, sich mit Bedingungen der eigenen Situation auseinanderzusetzen. Das Projekt soll einen Zugang zu den wichtigen Themen unserer Kulturen in Europa erschließen. Es soll dabei helfen, einen eigenen Weg zu finden, um Demokratie und Menschenrechte mit Blick auf die eigene Geschichte und die eigene Region zu entwickeln.

Die Videoproduktionen in deutscher, italienischer, polnischer, französischer, niederländischer und englischer Sprache stehen Schülern, Lehrern und Multiplikatoren im Bildungsbereich zur Verfügung. SIe sollen zu einem interdisziplinären Dialog führen. Durch ihn wird Bildung gelehrt und gelernt. In ihm wird zu Frieden erzogen und das Bewusstsein über die Unveräußerlichkeit der Menschenrechte entwickelt.

Die Produktion basiert auf der Komposition "Il canto sospeso" von Luigi Nono. Er wählte für sein im Auftrag des WDR im Jahr 1956 komponiertes Chorwerk zehn letzte Briefe von Widerstandskämpfern aus. Diese wurden geschrieben von Jugendlichen, von Frauen und Männern aus Griechenland, Russland, Polen, Italien, Bulgarien und Deutschland, die gegen die Nationalsozialisten Widerstand leisteten und von der Wehrmacht in den Jahren 1942 / 1943 ermordet wurden.

Die Briefe sind Zeugnis von Menschlichkeit und Toleranz, von Liebe und Hoffnung. Sie enthalten Botschaften, die jungen Menschen in Europa auch heute noch ein lebendiges Beispiel für Werte, Kultur, Bildung und Verantwortlichkeit für das eigene Handeln und für das Wohl anderer Menschen geben.

Videoproduktion "Luigi Nono - Il canto sospeso"

Filmeditionen

"Luigi Nono - Il canto sospeso"
Konzept: Claudio Abbado, Jürgen Petzinger

  • Deutsch
    mit Claudio Abbado, dem Berliner Philharmonischen Orchester, dem Rundfunkchor Berlin (Einstudierung: Dietrich Knothe) sowie den Solisten Barbara Bonney, Susanne Otto und Marek Torzewski. Sprecher: Susanne Lothar, Bruno Ganz. Vorwort: Umberto Eco. Für deutschsprachige Schulen und Bildungseinrichtungen (VHS/DVD Länge 50 Min. - Ton: Sony Classical)
  • Italienisch
    mit Claudio Abbado, dem Berliner Philharmonischen Orchester, dem Rundfunkchor Berlin (Einstudierung: Dietrich Knothe) sowie den Solisten Barbara Bonney, Susanne Otto und Marek Torzewski. Sprecher: Angelica Ippolito, Gian Maria Volontè. Vorwort: Umberto Eco. Ffür Schulen in Italien, gewidmet der Scuola di Pace Montesole in Marzabotto/Provincia di Bologna (VHS/DVD Länge 50 Min. - Ton: Sony Classical)
  • Englisch
    mit Claudio Abbado, dem Berliner Philharmonischen Orchester, dem Rundfunkchor Berlin (Einstudierung: Dietrich Knothe) sowie den Solisten Barbara Bonney, Susanne Otto und Marek Torzewski. Sprecher: Ben Kingsley. Englischsprachige, internationale Fassung in Kooperation mit dem Internationalen Musikinstitut Darmstadt, der Akademie für Tonkunst Darmstadt sowie dem Institut für Neue Musik und Musikerziehung Darmstadt (erschien im Januar 2002 als "Darmstädter Edition") (DVD Länge 45 Min. - Ton: Sony Classical)
  • Niederländisch
    mit Claudio Abbado, dem Berliner Philharmonischen Orchester, dem Rundfunkchor Berlin (Einstudierung: Dietrich Knothe) sowie den Solisten Barbara Bonney, Susanne Otto und Marek Torzewski. Sprecher: Pia Douwes (DVD Länge 45 Min. - Ton: Sony Classical)
  • Französisch
    mit Claudio Abbado, dem Berliner Philharmonischen Orchester, dem Rundfunkchor Berlin (Einstudierung: Dietrich Knothe)sowie den Solisten Barbara Bonney, Susanne Otto und Marek Torzewski. Sprecher: Schüler des Lycée de l'Essouriau Les Ulis, Frankreich (DVD Länge 45 Min. - Ton: Sony Classical)
  • Polnisch
    mit Claudio Abbado, dem Berliner Philharmonischen Orchester, dem Rundfunkchor Berlin (Einstudierung: Dietrich Knothe) sowie den Solisten Barbara Bonney, Susanne Otto und Marek Torzewski. Sprecher: Schüler des II Liceum Ogólnokształcące w Świdnicy, Polen (DVD Länge 45 Min. - Ton: Sony Classical)
  • Deutsch
    mit Claudio Abbado, dem Berliner Philharmonischen Orchester, dem Rundfunkchor Berlin (Einstudierung: Dietrich Knothe) sowie den Solisten Barbara Bonney, Susanne Otto und Marek Torzewski. Sprecher: Schüler des Friedrich-Ebert-Gymnasiums Berlin-Wilmersdorf (DVD Länge 45 Min. - Ton: Sony Classical)

Für weitere Versionen (Griechisch und Russisch werden derzeit in Betracht gezogen) hat Deutschlands Außenminister Heiko Maas die Schirmherrschaft übernommen.

DVD Releases

  • "Luigi Nono - Il canto sospeso" - Darmstädter Edition 2002
    enthält die ersten drei Aufnahmen in Deutsch, Italienisch und Englisch. Herausgegeben in Kooperation mit dem Internationalen Musikinstitut Darmstadt, der Akademie für Tonkunst Darmstadt sowie dem Institut für Neue Musik und Musikerziehung Darmstadt.
  • "Luigi Nono - Il canto sospeso" - Edition EU 2004
    enthält die ersten drei Aufnahmen in Deutsch, Italienisch und Englisch. Herausgegeben in Zusammenarbeit mit der Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung.
  • "Luigi Nono - Il canto sospeso" - Edition EU 2013 Auswärtiges Amt
    enthält die ersten drei Aufnahmen in Deutsch, Italienisch und Englisch. Herausgegeben in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Auswärtigen Amt unter Schirmherrschaft von Dr. Guido Westerwelle.
  • "Luigi Nono - Il canto sospeso" - Edition EU 2017
    enthält die Varianten mit französischen, polnischen und deutschen Schülern. Herausgegeben unter Schirmherrschaft von Piotr Fedorowicz (Landrat von Świdnicy, Polen) and Dietmar Woidke (Ministerpräsident Brandenburg).
Die Briefe werden in der deutschen Fassung von Susanne Lothar und Bruno Ganz, in der italienischen von Angelica Ippolito und Gian Maria Volontè sowie in der englischen Fassung von Ben Kingsley gelesen. In den weiteren Fassungen wurden die Briefe im Rahmen der Projektarbeit von Schülern der jeweiligen Schulen gelesen.
Der Konzertteil zu dem Video-Film "Luigi Nono - Il canto sospeso" wurde in der Berliner Philharmonie aufgezeichnet und mit Bildern der Zeitgeschichte aus dem 2. Weltkrieg, Auschwitz und mit Arbeiten von Francisco de Goya, Pablo Picasso, Otto Dix und Alberto Giacometti gestaltet.

Freunde des Nonoprojekts

  • Alessandra Abbado, Ferrara
  • Claudio Abbado †, Berlin/Ferrara
  • Gabriele Abbado, Arezzo
  • Pedro Alcalde, Barcelona
  • Volker Assel, Berlin
  • Peter Barg, Berlin
  • Peter Benz, Darmstadt
  • Giovanni Bersani, Bologna
  • Joachim Bertele, Berlin
  • Dieter Beuermann, Berlin
  • Giancarlo Biamino, Hamburg/Florenz
  • Mechthild Borries-Knopp, Berlin
  • Leonardo Botti, Berlin
  • Harald Braun, Berlin
  • Waltraut und Günter Braun, Berlin
  • Aleksandra Brnetic, Berlin
  • Dankwart Buwitt, Berlin
  • Wolfgang Clement, Düsseldorf
  • Peter Danckert, Berlin
  • Umberto Eco †, Mailand
  • Hans Eichel, Berlin
  • Horst Engelhardt, Berlin
  • Karsten Evers, Genf
  • Angelika und Ingo Fessmann, Berlin
  • Michel Friedman, Frankfurt
  • Rosetta Froncillo, Berlin
  • Manfred Füger, Potsdam
  • Bruno Ganz †, Berlin
  • Werner Gegenbauer, Berlin
  • Manfred Gentz, Esslingen
  • Christel Gernhardt, Berlin
  • Bernd Goldmann, Berlin
  • Brigitta Grabner, Ferrara
  • Antonia Graschberger, München
  • Peter Hanser-Strecker, Mainz
  • Gerd Harms, Magdeburg
  • Andreas Hesse, Berlin
  • Marianne Heuwagen, Berlin
  • Gunnar Hille, Berlin
  • Karin und Bernd Höffken, Nürnberg
  • Erika und Rolf Hoffmann, Berlin
  • Sabrina Hohmann, München
  • Ulla Jäger, München
  • Wolfgang Kapst, Berlin/Potsdam
  • Betty und Paul Kern, Berlin
  • Horst-Achim Kern, Berlin
  • Ben Kingsley, Chipping-Norton
  • Michael Klockmann, Berlin
  • Klaus Krahn, Berlin
  • Klaus Krone, Potsdam
  • Stephan Krüger, Berlin
  • Niko Lamprecht, Wiesbaden
  • Klaus Landowsky, Berlin
  • Florian Langenscheidt, München
  • Micaela Lipparini, Bologna
  • Susanne Lothar †, Wien
  • Regine und Jochen Ludewig, Bad Schwartau
  • Wolfgang Lüder †, Berlin
  • Fritz Lüdtke, München
  • Marco Macciantelli, Bologna
  • Christa Maerker, Berlin
  • IKH Margaret Prinzessin von Hessen und bey Rhein †
  • Wilhelm Matejka, Berlin
  • Hans-Georg Meier, Berlin
  • Arend Oetker, Köln
  • Henning Osthues-Albrecht, Essen
  • Luciana Pestalozza, Mailand
  • Angelika und Rolf Petry, Essen
  • Hannelore und Dieter Pfeng-Kalbhenn, Darmstadt
  • Peter Poschmann, Rathenow
  • Peter Raue, Berlin
  • Steffen Reiche, Potsdam
  • Ann Robertson, Berlin
  • Hans Rombach, Berlin
  • Nikolaus Sander, Berlin
  • Nerio Scala, Bologna
  • Michael Schaefer, Berlin
  • Heinrich Schäffler, Michelstadt
  • Silke Schagen, Berlin
  • Klaus-Peter Schmidt-Deguelle, Berlin
  • Margit und Manfred Schneider-Rothhaar †, Darmstadt
  • Horst Schnur, Erbach
  • Nuria Schoenberg-Nono, Venedig/Los Angeles
  • Manfred Stolpe †, Potsdam
  • Rita Süssmuth, Berlin
  • Jan Tonnemacher, München
  • Umberto Vattani, Rom
  • Giuseppe Vita, Berlin/Mailand
  • Ruth Wagner, Wiesbaden
  • Andreas von Weizsäcker †, München
  • Christian Wiesner-Stippel, Berlin
  • Karin Wolff, Wiesbaden
  • Hans Zehetmair, München

Phone

Address

Schuette-Lanz-Str. 105a
12209 Berlin
Germany